ISWI School and the AGS International Conference on Space Weather

> Chigo Ngwira Co-Chair Organizing Committee

## Meeting Information

• Local hosting group

>Led by the Physics Society of Zambia

- ► University of Zambia
- Copperbelt University
- ► Nkrumah University
- ≻Mulungushi University
- International partners include ISWI, the African Geophysical Society, SANSA, and NASA
- More partners to be engaged

### Meeting Location

- Location: Lusaka the capital city of Zambia
- **Tentative venue:** Mulungushi International Conference Center (MICC)





Lusaka



# ISWI School

- To run from September 26 to October 4th, 2023
- Sept-Oct time frame is a dry period in Zambia
- ~40 graduate students from across Africa
- To be lectured by international experts
- Largely funded by ISWI
- Local host to fund lunch, tea/coffee breaks, and banquet dinner

## AGS International Conference on Space Weather

- To run from October  $2^{nd} 4^{th} 2023$
- Focus on capacity building in Africa
- Key objectives will be:
  - Review progress from the IHY activities
  - Enhance and forester new research collaborations
- Open to the international community

## Proposed Conference Sessions

- Solar science (sun, interplanetary medium, heliosphere)
- Impact solar phenomena on terrestrial and planetary environments, including magnetosphere, ionosphere, thermosphere, and atmosphere)
- Space weather effects on GNSS satellites and applications
- Space weather effects on ground infrastructure (power grids, oil/gas pipelines, communication systems etc)
- Space weather prediction/forecasting, instrumentation, and data and services
- Space science education and public outreach.

### Local Organizing Committee

Dr. Chigomezyo Ngwira	Co-Chair
Dr. Patrick Sibanda	Co-Chair
Mr Propery Simpemba	Secretary
Mr Fred J. Nambala	Logistics Coordinator
Mr Given Kalonga	IT Coordinator
Dr Remmy Musumpuka	IT Coordinator
Prof. Rekha Prasad	Member
Mr Peter J. Banda	Member
Mr Nkonde Kangwa	Member
Dr. Andrew Akala	AGS Liaison
Ms Aderonke Obafaye	AGS Liaison
Zama Katamzi	SANSA Liaison
Prof. Paul Baki	Member
Prof. Ayman Mahorous	Member

# International Organizing Committee

Dr. Chigomezyo Ngwira	Co-Chair
Prof. Olivier Obreu	Co-Chair/AGS President
Dr. Nat Gopalswamy	Co-Chair/ISWI Coordinator
Dr. Patrick Sibanda	Primary/Local Coordinator
Ms Aderonke Obafaye	Secretary/AGS Coordinator
Dr. Keith Groves	ISWI Coordinator
Prof. Rabiu Babatunde	Member
Dr. Antti Pulkkinen	Member
Dr. John Bosco Habarulema	Member
Dr. Endawoke Yizengaw	Member
Dr. Anthea Coster	Member
Prof. Mark Moldwin	Member
Dr. Susan Skone	Member