

On the 21st of July 2010, the National Space Agency of Malaysia (ANGKASA) had convened a meeting involving space weather researchers in Malaysia to form the ISWI Working Committee of Malaysia. All invited researchers are from the universities and institutions which have facilities or interest in space weather related activities and researches. All committee members were introduced about the ISWI's objectives and its International programme.

The committee members have identified a few suitable instruments from ISWI which can be used to further their research areas and also can be used to collaborate in the space weather area as a regional and international collaboration. The objective of ISWI Working Committee of Malaysia is:-

- a) To develop space weather research activities in Malaysia;
- b) To encourage local, regional and international collaborations in space weather; and
- c) To educate and promote space weather to the public through education and public awareness programmes.

The theme of ISWI initiative in Malaysia is '*Space weather for knowledge generation towards societal well-being*'. The educational and awareness programme on space weather has been proposed to be included in the current National Planetarium's programme. The general proposed idea was to promote and share the current data, instruments and researches regarding space weather using the platform ISWI and also for Malaysia to join in the ISWI instrument programme.





ISWI WORKING COMMITTEE OF MALAYSIA

Standing from left to right :

- Ms. Farahana Kamarudin, Research Officer, National Space Agency (ANGKASA) <u>farahana@angkasa.gov.my</u>
- Ms. Zahira Mohd Radzi, Research Officer, National Space Agency (ANGKASA) <u>zahira@angkasa.gov.my</u>
- Prof Ir. Dr. Ahmad Faizal Mohd Zain, Head of Wireless and Radio Science Center (WARAS), University Tun Hussain Onn (UTHM) <u>drfaizal@ieee.org</u>
- Mr. Mohd Helmy Hashim, Research Officer, National Space Agency (ANGKASA) <u>helmy@angkasa.gov.my</u>
- Mr. Mohd Fairos Asillam, Science Officer, National Space Agency (ANGKASA) <u>fairos@angkasa.gov.my</u>
- Dr. Mandeep Singh, Associate fellow, National University of Malaysia (UKM) <u>mandeep@eng.ukm.my</u>

- Dr. Zamri Zainal Abidin, Department of Physics, University of Malaya, <u>zzaa@um.edu.my</u>
- Mr. Joko Satria A. Department of Physics, University of Malaya, <u>kencana25@yahoo.com</u>
- Mr. Muhammad Shamim Shukor Department of Physics, University of Malaya, <u>aim_biohazard@hotmail.com</u>
- 10. Ms. Lau Chen Chen Research Officer, National Space Agency (ANGKASA) <u>lau@angkasa.gov.my</u>
- 11. Ms. Azreena Ahmad Director of National Planetarium, National Space Agency (ANGKASA) azreena@angkasa.gov.my

Sitting from left to right:

- Mr. Syahril Hirman Azmee Science Officer, University of Sultan Zainal Abidin, <u>hirman@udm.edu.my</u>
- Dr (H) Kassim Bahali Science Officer ,Malacca Mufti Department, <u>kassimhb@gmail.com</u>
- Dr. Mustafa Din Subari Director General, National Space Agency (ANGKASA) <u>mustafa@angkasa.gov.my</u>
- Associate Professor Ir. Dr Mardina Abdullah Associate Fellow, National University Of Malaysia (UKM) <u>mardina@eng.ukm.my</u>
- Ms. Zety Sharizat Hamidi Lecturer, Universiti Teknologi MARA <u>zetysh@salam.uitm.edu.my</u>