## SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE ON SOLAR-TERRESTRIAL PHYSICS

President: Dr. Nat Gopalswamy Solar Physics Laboratory, Code 671 Heliophysics Division NASA Goddard Space Flight Center Greenbelt MD 20771 USA Vice-President: Prof. Franz-Josef Lübken Leibniz Institute of Atmospheric Physics Schloss-Str. 6 18225 Kühlungsborn Germany Scientific Secretary: Prof. Marianna Shepherd CRESS, York University 4700 Keele St, Toronto ON, Canada M3J 1P3

June 22, 2016

## **Request for Information: Future Directions in Solar Terrestrial Physics**

SCOSTEP has initiated an effort to develop community consensus in defining its future activities based on surveys of (i) current status, (ii) knowledge gap, (iii) future directions in observations and modeling to fill the gaps. As a first step, a COSPAR-SCOSTEP Joint Session on Solar Terrestrial Physics has been organized during the 41<sup>st</sup> COSPAR scientific assembly in Istanbul on two days (August 5-6, 2016). SCOSTEP scientific discipline representatives (SDRs), COSPAR Main Scientific Organizers (MSOs) and SCOSTEP/VarSITI leaders will be official delegates to this joint session and contribute to the discussion. All participants of the COSPAR scientific assembly are also invited to attend the session.

SCOSTEP solicits input from the community on the key issues that need to be addressed in making progress in solar terrestrial physics. In particular, the community is requested to send their input to the following invited speakers, who will incorporate the community input in preparing their presentations.

Solar Dynamo and the Solar Cycle (Dibyendu Nandi) Solar Activity in the Coming Decades (Robert Cameron) Solar electromagnetic emission and climate (Sami Solanki) Solar mass emission and climate (Kalevi Mursula) Solar Flares and their Geospace impact (Nicole Vilmer) CMEs and their Geospace Impact (Sarah Gibson) Coronal Holes and their Geospace impact (Bojan Vrsnak) Energetic particles in the inner heliosphere (Olga Malandraki) Geospace and Atmospheric Impact of Energetic Particles (Bernd Funke) New Developments in Magntetospheric Studies (Qiugang Zong) Space Weather (Ian Mann) Terrestrial Weather – Space Weather Connection (Jens Oberheide)

We anticipate that these inputs will be compiled and developed into a document that will be used in defining future SCOSTEP scientific programs. Please send a copy of your input to the SCOSTEP scientific secretary (mshepher [at] yorku.ca).

Sincerely,

Nat Gopalswamy

President nat.gopalswamy@nasa.gov Tel: +1 301 286 5885 Mobile: +1 301 395 6711 Fax: +1 301 286 7194 Vice President luebken@iap-kborn.de Tel: +49 38293 68100 Mobile: Fax: +49 38 293 6850 Scientific Secretary mshepher@yorku.ca Tel: +1 416 736 2100 ext 33828 Mobile: +1 647 236 8382 Fax: +1 416-736-5626

COSPAR. IAGA. IAMAS. IAU. IUPAP. SCAR. URSI